

NORTH WALES ROAD RACE – Rd 4 7th August 2016

Men's Regional A Road Race 2nd, 3rd and 4th Cat 100Km & 1600m Elevation Gain Hosted By



https://vcmelyd.bike

Welcome

Welcome to the 2016 North Wales Road Race Series.

This weekend brings Round 4 and the penultimate round of the NWRR series on another new course. The course uses part of the old Brenig Road Race course. It's set on the open Denbigh moores and passes the picturesque Llyn Brenig.

Essential Information

1. Race HQ

Race HQ for the event will be at –

Llyn Brenig Visitors Centre, Cerrigydrudion, Conwy

Postcode: LL21 9TT

2. Race Timings

Men's Race 2/3/4	Time	Notes
HQ Opens	8.00 am	Don't be late
Sign On	8.00 am – 8.45 am	otherwise your space
		will be allocated to
Reserve Riders Sign	8.45 am – 9.00 am	riders on the reserve
On		list
Officials Briefing	9.00 am	
Riders Briefing	9.10 am	No briefing - No Ride
Race Start	9.30 am	From Race HQ
Estimated Race Finish	12.00 pm to 12.30 pm	

3. Race Officials

	Chief Commissaire	Emma Tilston
Commissaires	Driver	lan McLean
	2 nd	
	Commissaire	Jasmine Sharp
	Driver	Mark Allen
Lead Car	[.] No. 1	Nick Rowlands
Lead Car No. 2		TBC
Race Day Co-Ordinator & Safety		Mark Allen
Officer		07768 377515
Chief Judge		Chris Allen
NEG Motorcycle Marshalls – Team Leader		David Hunt
CSAS Marshals – Team Leader		Paul Parkinson
Neutral Service Vehicle 'Ynys Mon Race Team'		Dewi Jones
First Aid		St John Ambulance
Static Marshalls		X6
HQ Volunteers		X6

4. Competitors Information

- 1. Start From Llyn Brenig Visitors Centre and turn right onto B4501.
- Finish B4501 (Approx. 1.1km from the exit of the Llyn Brenig Visitors Centre)
- 3. Changing Facilities are available at the Event HQ
- 4. Parking is limited so please park neatly, Please obey the site speed limit. Some parts of the car park are Pay and Display so please check local parking notices.
- 5. Fishing Competition on during the same day so please respect other persons visiting the Centre.
- 6. Junior riders will be restricted to the gear (52x14)
- 7. Crash helmets must be worn
- 8. Current British Cycling Membership cards/race licensed must be produced at sign on
- 9. There will be a broom wagon provided at the rear of the convoy
- 10. In case of emergency, please call Mark Allen on 07768 367515
- 11. Open Road Race Marshals will make every effort to stop traffic at junctions between the two commissaire vehicles only
- 12. Any riders who fall behind the 2nd commissaire vehicle will then not be supported by the Marshals and must adhere to the highway code and stop at ALL junctions

NEUTRAL SERVICE – Supplied by 'Ynys Mon Race Team who is happy to carry YOUR spare wheels if you like

5. Remember the Race Smart Principles

- 1. Look after yourself on the open road
- 2. Be alert to the riders around you as well the vehicles you share the road with
- 3. As well as your own safety think about the rider on your shoulder
- 4. Think twice before you dive for a gap
- 5. Pass on knowledge to new and less experienced riders, helping them to Racesmart too
- 6. Watch the short Race Smart video on the British Cycling web site prior to the event
 - <u>https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/knowledge/skills/road-</u> racesmart/article/izn20150312-Road--Racesmart--What-is-Racesmart--0

6. The Course

A new circuit again for the NWRR Series 2016 which uses some sections of the original Brenig Road Race Circuit. This is a 63 mile road race with 4,800ft of climbing. The circuit climbs at a steady gradient from the HQ for the first 4 mile before descending quickly down towards the A5 with a small hill in the middle. On the A5 the surface is fast and the road is fairly flat as the race heads towards Cerrigudrudion. From Cerrigydrudion there is a long climb as you return towards Llyn Brenig. The road between Cerrigudrudion and Llyn Brenig is undulating and the race finished on a gradual climb. https://www.strava.com/routes/865385



7. League Points & Prize Allocation

League points will be allocated on the following basis -

Points
30
25
20
19
18
17
16
15
14
13
12
11
10
9
8
7
6
5
4
3
1

Overall series prizes for individuals are as follows -

Individual Prize Break Down		
1st	£250	
2nd	£150	
3rd	£100	
4th	£75	
5th	£50	
6th	£25	
7th	£25	
8th	£25	
9th	£25	
10th	£25	

Overall series prizes for Team are as follows –The best 3 results from any team members will count towards the team points

Team Prize Break Down1st£1252nd£753rd£50

8. The Riders

No.	Forename	Surname	Club / Team Name	Cat
1	Mark	Allen	Congleton CC	3rd
2	Luigi	Baccerini	Clwb Beicio Egni	4th
3	John	Backhouse		2nd
4	Adam	Baines	Team Chronomaster	3rd
5	Lewis	Ball	VC Hettange	2nd
6	Craig	Battersby	Team Chronomaster	2nd
7	Paul	Beech	Team Chronomaster	3rd
8	James	Bell	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	4th
9	Luke	Beswick	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	3rd
10	Philip	Blundell	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	3rd
11	Darren	Bohana	Clwb Beicio Egni	4th
12	Joseph	Bowers	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	2nd
13	Stephen	Bradbrook	Velo Club Melyd	3rd
14	Simon	Bradeley	Pro Vision Cycle Clothing	2nd
15	Thomas	Brazier	Team Elite	2nd
16	Tom	Brereton	Team Elite	3rd
17	Daniel	Brough	Audlem Cycling Club	3rd
18	Jonno	Carroll	Marford and Gresford Velo	4th
19	Carwyn	Davies	Sarn Helen	4th
20	Joseph	Dobson	Manchester Bicycle Club	3rd
21	Dan	Evans	Cannondale Racing	2nd
22	Steven	Fidler	Surface Design Racing	2nd
23	Jamie	Fletcher	Team Elite	2nd
24	Jack	Gilbert	Manchester Bicycle Club	3rd
25	David	Griffiths	Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team	2nd
26	Matt	Hallam		2nd

27	Thomas	Hanlon	Harry Middleton Cycling Club	3rd
28	Gareth	Hind	Ynys Mon Racing Team	4th
29	Jake	Hollins	Canyon UK	2nd
30	Josh	Housley	Team PB Performance	2nd
31	Dafydd	Hughes	Clwb Beicio Egni	4th
32	Bevan	Humphreys	Urban Cyclery	2nd
33	Mark	Jones	Clwb Rasio Mona	4th
34	Caron	Jones	Ynys Mon Racing Team	3rd
35	Neil	Jones		2nd
36	Dylan	Kerfoot-Robson	Team USN	2nd
37	Oliver	Kyte	Rhino Velo Race Team	3rd
38	Paul	Lally	Onimpex Bio Racer RT	2nd
39	Owen	Line	Champion System VCUK Racing Team	2nd
40	Robert	Mansell	Clwb Rasio Mona	4th
41	Gareth	McGuinness	Clwb Beicio Egni	2nd
42	Jack	Nash	Marsh Tracks Race Team	2nd
43	Jack	ONeill	Mike Vaughan Cycles	2nd
44	Rhodri	Owen	Ynys Mon Racing Team	2nd
45	Huw	Owen	Energy Cycles Junior Road Team	3rd
46	Tomos	Owens	Pro Vision SJ Academy	2nd
47	Ben	Palmer	Surface Design Racing	2nd
48	Simon	Parkinson	Marsh Tracks Race Team	2nd
49	David	Parry	Ynys Mon Racing Team	2nd
50	Nicholas	Pilling	Team Chronomaster	3rd
51	Simon	Price	Graham Weigh Racing	3rd
52	David	Reece		2nd
53	Dorian	Rees	Sarn Helen	4th
54	Eifion	Rees		4th

55	Devon	Round	Mid Shropshire Wheelers	2nd
56	David	Scott	Rhino Velo Race Team	2nd
57	loan	Smallwood	Cardiff Ajax CC	2nd
58	Oliver	Smee	Team PB Performance	3rd
59	Christian	Smith	Manchester Bicycle Club	2nd
60	Jimmy	Smith	Team Aspire	2nd
61	John	Spill		4th
62	lan	Taylor	Leicester Forest CC	2nd
63	Ben	Trotter	Macclesfield Wheelers	2nd
64	David	Tudor	Marsh Tracks Race Team	2nd
65	Jonathan	Turnock	Clwb Beicio Egni	4th
66	Gareth	Vickers	Rhos On Sea Cycling Club	3rd
67	Dan	Whelan	Onimpex Bio Racer RT	2nd
68	Nicholas	Whitley	Chester RC	2nd
69	Jack	Williams	Energy Cycles Junior Road Team	2nd
70	David	Williams	Wrexham Roads Club	3rd
71	Paul	Woodrow	Team Elite	3rd
72	Kieran	Wynne- Cattanach	Rhos On Sea Cycling Club	2nd

Reserve Riders

Please Contact: <u>simonparky1@btinternet.com</u> 07824 470 687