North Wales Time Trials

Since 2009 VC Melyd and Rhyl have combined their resources to run road cycling time trials in the Denbigh area. These are club events ( Type B ) that are run in accordance with the rules and guidance provided by the National governing body for Time Trials – Cycling Time Trials ( CTT ). See CTT regulations for details.


The locations of the start and meeting points where signing on takes place are shown under the Find Us section of the Rhyl CC website.

Signing on

Riders should arrive at least 15 minutes before the scheduled start time to sign on.  Early event start times are used at the start and end of the season for reasons of safety. Check the start times on the Time Trial Calendar shown on the VC Melyd & Rhyl CC Time Trial Facebook Group.
There is a 40 rider limit.  Arrive and sign-on early to avoid disappointment. Entry to eligible riders is on a ‘first come first served’ basis.
To reduce waiting time and to help the organisers start at the scheduled start time, race numbers will be allocated at the sign-on. The first person to sign on will normally be allocated race number ‘1’ , the second rider race number ‘2’ etc.


You must be a member of a CTT affiliated club and your membership must be up to date. The only exception is for first-time riders taking part in a ‘Come and Try It’ event ( Hill Climb D0/11 and 5 mile D1/5 only ).
Riders must be a minimum of 12 years of age on the day of the event. Young riders aged 12 to 17 years of age will need to ensure that a ‘Parental Consent’ form is submitted to the event organiser when signing  on.  A PDF version  from the  CTT website. Parents/Guardians do not need to be present at the event.
All club time trials are entered on the day by payment in cash to the event organiser.

Time Trial League

To be eligible to earn league points you must be a member of either VC Melyd or Rhyl CC and your name must be included on the membership lists maintained by the Club Secretaries.
For 2016 there will be 26 events counting towards the League standings. The first event takes place on New Years Day and the last is early in September. 30 points are awarded to the winner of each event, 29 points for second …..and 1 point for 30 th place and for all finishers.  In the interim and final standings each riders 15 best scores will be aggregated to determine his/her total score.
The event organiser, timekeepers and marshalls will be present at the signing on and at the start to help you and answer any questions you may have. Regular riders are expected to help in these roles on at least two occasions during the league year. The names of the all helpers will be listed in the Time Trial Calendar. If there are less than two names per event on the latest published version of the calendar this means further help is needed. Please contact the Time Trial secretaries to book a slot as a helper:-

Ashley Roberts ( Rhyl CC Time Trial Sec. )

Andy Malcolm ( VC Melyd Time Trial Sec. )

The results of each event will be published in the Results section of this website usually within 24 hours of each event taking place. The league standings will also be updated and published.   A photo of the results sheet is usually posted on the facebook page a few minutes after the event is completed.

Age Groups

Age groups for young riders are the same as those used by British Cycling as many of the young riders also race on the track. Age groups for veterans span 10 years.

  • Youth C – aged 11 or 12 in current league year
  • Youth B – aged 13 or 14 in current league year
  • Youth A – aged 15 or 16 in current league year
  • Junior – aged 17 or 18 in current league year
  • Senior – aged 19 to 39 inclusive in current league year
  • Vet-A – aged 40 to 49 inclusive in current league year
  • Vet-B – aged 50 to 59 inclusive in current league year
  • Vet-C – aged 60 to 69 inclusive in current league year
  • Vet-D – aged 70 to 79 inclusive in current league year

The current league year starts on January 1st and ends on December 31st.


Certificates and perpetual trophies are awarded annually to gender and age group winners in the following categories:-

  • League Overall standings
  • Best Improver – Most number of Personal Best performances in league year ( first time efforts do not count ).
  • Club Championships winners.

Details of all awards are published in the results section of the Rhyl website.

Open Events

Full details will also be given on the CTT website. Open events need to be entered in advance by filling in a CTT (Cycling Time Trials) entry form, complete with entry fee, and sending it to the Event Secretary no later than 2 weeks before the event is due to take place. Open events do not count towards the League. Information for specific events will be posted to this site under news, and then under reports.
The CTT is the governing body for Time Trials in the UK. If you want to know more about Time Trials in general, and see the latest news and results from around the country visit:

By |2009-07-22T15:13:56+00:00July 22, 2009|Archive|
Go to Top